[25 Ans Japanese Magazine]

PRIVATE TALK WITH THE 5 MEMBERS OF WINNER

As the “younger brother” counterparts of BIG BANG, the much awaited debut of this performance group, WINNER, has started their promotions in Japan. Receiving much attention as the new generation of artist who write song lyrics, compose, and even choreograph on their own, let’s get closer to them on a private level. We asked questions that we were curious about for each member.
WINNER_rect521

with KANG SEUNG YOON

WINNER-5_rect521

Kang Seungyoon

Birthday: January 21, 1994

Blood Type: B

Leader

Vocal

Can compose

He had his solo debut in Korea in 2013 and has a charismatic characteristic.

What advice influences you until now?

CEO YG’s advice, “Do music not only for yourselves but for everyone who listens so that they can become ‘WINNER’.”

Who do you want to see right now?

Mister Akashiya-sanma. I watched a Japanese broadcast of him and he was amazingly funny (laughs). (T/N: He’s a famous comedian)

What perfume do you use most?

Yves Saint Laurent

Where do you feel the most comfortable?

My room at our dorm. Because that’s my home!

What type of women do you like?

Before, I liked women who looked cute when they smiled but now I like women who have a charm that only they have.

with KIM JINWOO

WINNER5-TALK_rect521

Kim Jinwoo

Birthday: September 26, 1991

Blood Type: A

Vocal

Even though he’s the eldest in the group, he’s a hard worker.

Popular for his sweet looks.

What advice influences you until now?

My father’s advice, “Effort does not betray you.” During my trainee period, whenever it was especially difficult, that advice supported me.

What perfume do you use most?

Coco Chanel

What do you do to relax?

I watch television or movies or variety shows.

What do you collect?

Pictures. I especially like fashion pictures so I check through the internet and magazines.

Where do you want to go in japan?

I watched a Japanese drama called, “Engine” and I want to go to the “Kaze no Oka Home”.

with SONG MINO

WINNER5-TALK_rect521 (1)

Song Mino

Birthday: March 30, 1993

Blood Type: A

Rapper

Has the experience of being active in the Korean hip-hop scene. 

His deep voice rapping is his signature trait.

What advice influences you until now?

SOL-senpai of BIG BANG (Taeyang)’s advice, “Even now when I’m successful, I enjoy everything with passion.” I am influenced by that advice.

What song do you play on repeat?

Songs from Redman*. Actually, I like rap music. (T/N: Redman is a Japanese superhero who transforms into a big size to fight monsters. But there is a rapper called Redman. I am not sure which Redman Mino is talking about ;;)

What perfume do you use most?

I like the perfumes made by Versace.

What do you do to relax?

Listening to music in my room and zoning out.

Where do you want to go right now?

Winter in Sapporo! I absolutely prefer the cold over being hot. I want to ski and snowboard!

with LEE SEUNGHOON

WINNER5-TALK_rect521 (2)

Lee Seunghoon

Birthday: January 11, 1992

Blood Type: A

Rapper

Ever since he was a baby, he had an intimate connection with hip-hop dancing. He has many fans due to his sharp dance performances.

What song do you play on repeat?

These days, I listen to Ed Sheeran’s album often. I like his voice.

What perfume do you use most?

Versace perfume for females. I like scents that are unisex.

Where do you want to go right now?

Cebu Island. I want to go to a beautiful ocean and try scuba diving!

What type of women do you like?

Women with pretty smiles. Because this type of women, when they smile, the people around her will look pretty too.

What do you collect?

Hats. And things received from fans.

with NAM TAEHYUN

WINNER5-TALK_rect521 (3)

Nam Taehyun

Birthday: May 10, 1994

Blood Type: A

Vocal

Skilled in songs like ballads with his talent in singing in a high pitch. 

His solo song, “Confession” is a part of the album.

What advice influences you until now?

CEO Yang’s saying that was pasted in a practice room, “You have the ability to shine an ore but you do not have the ability to turn a stone into a jewel.”

What song do you play on repeat?

Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good”.

What perfume do you use most?

Creed’s Silver Mountain.

What do you do to relax?

I listen to music. I read books.

What do you find impacting in Japanese women?

I think it’s really cool that they respect manners.

Where do you want to go right now?

Peru. I want to see the Nazca Lines.

source: 25Ans & translations by: Chrissy96trans (Chrissy96_)

